2020 Russian Grand Prix


2019 Russian Grand PrixSochi

The original Russian Grand Prix was run twice, in 1913 and 1914 at a circuit in St. Petersburg. The first race was won by Russian driver Georgy Suvorin, whilst German Willy Scholl won the 1914 event. Now we have the 2020 Russian Grand Prix.

In 2010, it was officially announced that the Russian city of Sochi, which was also preparing to host the 2014 Winter Olympics, will host a new event on the F1 schedule beginning in the 2014 Formula One season under a seven-year deal.

Mercedes have won ALL the Russian GPs ever held since 1913 and 1914 plus those since 2014 with Lewis Hamilton winning 3 times.

2016 Russian Grand Prix

Tis race marked the fifth running of the race, the third time as a round of the Formula One World Championship since the series inception in 1950.

Nico Rosberg won the race from pole position, ahead of his teammate Lewis Hamilton, with Kimi Räikkönen completing the podium for Ferrari.

2018 Russian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton won this race for Mercedes from Valtteri Bottas and Sebastian Vettel Ferrari.

2019 Russian Grand Prix

With Ferrari having won the last three races and Charles Leclerc wining twice, it look as if Ferrari have found their Mojo at long last!

Although Ferrari have been on the podium in all the Russian Grands Prix so far.

Can Ferrari catch up even more to Mercedes in Russia?

2020 Russian Grand Prix

This will take place with a small crowd of spectators on September 25-27 at Sochi.

During qualifying on Saturday both Ferraris were out of the top 10. Lewis Hamilton has pole from Max Verstappen and Bottas, after losing 2 fast laps. So tomorrow could be interesting with Lewis and Max on the front row.

In the race Lewis was given two 5 second penalties for test starts BEFORE the race and so he actually finished 3rd after Valterri and Max.  Maybe they should have more successful race drivers as stewards, maybe Nigel Mansell or Jean Alesi, rahter than Mico Sala.


Winners Collections