2020 British Grand Prix


2020 British Grand PrixSilverstone – 2020 British Grand Prix

Grand Prix motor racing in with British drivers began in 1926 when Henry Segrave won the 1923 French Grand Prix. Now we have the 2020 British Grand Prix.

The first ever British Grand Prix in 1926 was won by the French team of Louis Wagner and Robert Sénéchal driving a Delage 155B. The 2nd British Grand Prix in 1927 was run at Brooklands. Look forward to the 2019 British Grand Prix.


After WWII the RAC International Grand Prix was held at Silverstone airfield track on October 2, 1948. This race was won by Luigi Villoresi in a Maserati.

Formula One Championship was introduced in 1950. The 1950 British Grand Prix was the first Formula One race ever held in the world run under new regulations together with 6 other races in Europe. This race was won by Nino Farina in his Alfa Romeo.

Silverstone and Aintree (1955–1962)

In 1955, the Grand Prix began to alternate between Silverstone and the Aintree circuit, on the Grand National horse racing course near Liverpool.

Silverstone and Brands Hatch (1963–1986)

The first F1 race at Brands Hatch was run in 1964. The track was built in the early 1950s and had been extended in 1960.  During the next 23 years the British Grand Prix alternated between Silverstone in odd-numbered years and Brands Hatch in even-numbered years.

At Silverstone in 1985 Keke Rosberg set the all-time Formula 1 qualifying lap record which pasted for 17 years after posting fastest qualifying time for the race with an average speed of 258.983 km/h (160.92 mph).

Silverstone’s evolution (1987–present)

Silverstone was modified in 1987 where Woodcote chicane was no longer used and a new left-right chicane was built on the Farm Straight just before Woodcote.

The 2010 race saw a new circuit configuration being used, using the brand new “Arena” layout, which is used to date. We now have the 2019 British GP here again this year.


The British GP has been won 15 times by Ferrari and 14 times by Williams, and Jim Clark and Alain Prost won the GP 5 times each, with Lewis Hamilton winning 6 times and Nigel Mansell winning 4 times.

2016 British GP

The 2016 British GP was won by Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, his 4th win  at Silverstone. This was yet another wet race where Lewis showed all his skills and he beat his team mate with Max Verstappen coming 2nd in front of Nico Rosberg.

2017 British GP

At the start, Hamilton easily pulled away opening a 1.6 seconds gap to Räikkönen after just one lap. Sebastian Vettel, starting from third, was overtaken by Max Verstappen. Valtteri Bottas started his slow run towards what would become a second place, overtaking both McLaren Honda driver Stoffel Vandoorne and Sergio Pérez in a Force India, who started from eight and sixth respectively.

As a result of the race, Lewis narrowed the gap to Sebastian in the Drivers’ Championship to just one point, while Mercedes expanded their lead in the Constructors’ Championship to 55 points over Ferrari.

The result marked Hamilton’s fifth career grand slam. This result meant that Hamilton had equalled the record for most British Grand Prix wins held jointly by Alain Prost and Jim Clark.

2018 British GP

Hamilton had a slow start and was jumped by Vettel and Bottas. At Turn 3, Kimi Räikkönen made contact with Hamilton, spinning him off the track and into last. Sergio Pérez also spun at the start, narrowly avoiding the Williams cars exiting the pit lane.

Räikkönen was given a 10 second time penalty for causing the collision between himself and Hamilton, which he served in the pits on lap 14.

On lap 38, Grosjean and Carlos Sainz crashed at Copse, causing another safety car. On lap 46, Verstappen spun and subsequently retired with a brake by wire issue.

The next lap, Sebastian Vettel overtook Bottas for the lead of the race, which he kept until the chequered flag. Seb became the first Ferrari driver to win at Silverstone since Fernando Alonso in 2011. Just wait for the 2019 British Grand Prix.

2019 British Grand Prix

Can Seb win the 2019 British Grand Prix again this year?

The answer is NO!

This year Lewis Hamilton won his 6th British GP, becoming the winner of the most British GPs.

Valterri Bottas was on pole and lead the race for 11 laps when he pitted and Lewsi took the lead until then end.

After great battles between the Ferraris and Red Bulls Leclerc finished on the podium behing Bottas with Pierre Gasly beating Max Verstappen into 4th. Sebastian Vettel made yet another error when he ran into the back of Verstappen and was then at the rear of the field, but made it back to 15th at the end.

202 British Grand Prix

The 2020 British Grand Prix is going ahead, so check out the results after .2nd August 2020 where Lewis Hamilton is on pole from Bottas and Max Verstappen.

Lewis Hamilton wins his 7th British GP even with  a puncture from Max Vestappen and Charles  Leclerc 3rd.


Winners Collections 2020

We have a great range of clothing and gifts celebrating the most popular F1 drivers at the 2020 British Grand Prix.

Check all our winners collections here.