2020 Australian GP


2020 Australian GPMelbourne

The Australian Grand Prix has been run 79 times since the first race at Phillip Island in 1928. Now we have the 2020 Australian Grand Prix.

The GP has been a round of the FIA Formula One World Championship Since 1985 and is held at the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit at Albert Park in Melbourne.

2020 Australian GP1985 – The new 3.78 km Adelaide Street Circuit saw the Grand prix where Ayrton Senna was on pole with a time of 1:19.843 in his Lotus–Renault. The final F1 race at Adelaide was won by Damon Hill in a Williams.

The race went to Melbourne in 1996 and Melbourne has been the first race of the season in every year since with the exception of 2006.

McLaren and Ferrari have won the race 12 times since the 50s, and Williams have won 6 times.

Michael Schumacker won the race 4 times with Ferrari, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel have won 3 times, with Lewis Hamilton having won three times.

2016 GP

Hamilton took the first pole position of the season in a qualifying session that saw the introduction of a new one-by-one elimination format that was widely criticised.

In the 2016 Australian GP Nico Rosberg took his first victory of 2016 ahead of Hamilton and Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel. Nico Rosberg took victory, thirty-one years after his father Keke Rosberg had won the 1985 Australian Grand Prix.

2017 GP

The 2017 Australian GP was the first race of the season under the new technical regulations producing a completely new series of cars.

The race marked the the 22nd time the event being held at the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit. Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton started the race from pole, matching Ayrton Senna’s record of six pole positions in Australia.

Sebastian Vettel won the race, which was his and Ferrari’s first win since the 2015 Singapore Grand Prix. Hamilton finished second, with Valtteri Bottas in third on his début race for Mercedes.

2018 GP

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel was the defending race winnerand although Lewis Hamilton started the race from pole which was his seventh pole position in Australia, a record for the event, whilst Seb successfully defended his race win, the forty-eighth of his career.

The last 2 races have been won by Sebastian Vettel in a Ferrari. Will 2019 be a hat trick??

2019 Australian GP

This is the first race under the changed regulations by making overtaking easier for the drivers.

After Lewis Hamilton winning Pole in qualifying from Vatteri Bottas he lost the lead at the start, and Valtteri Bottas won the Grand Prix. This was his 4th Formula 1 race win the that Finn scored in the Mercedes W10, He also scored the 89th F1 victory for Mercedes.

Lewis Hamilton came home 2nd and made it great weekend for Mercedes by scoring their 46th 1-2 finish.  Valtteri also made Fastest Lap and gets 1 extra point for himself and Mercedes.

The crowds’ favourite Daniel Ricciardo had to retire in the end due to damage.

Ferrari & 2019

2019 is a special year for Scuderia Ferrari, as it was 90 years ago, in 1929, that the company was established by Enzo Ferrari and his associates. The name of this year’s car, the SF90, is already a celebration of this anniversary. On top of that, the Maranello marque has decided to honour this achievement in an even more evident manner in Melbourne.

Over the 2019 Australian GP weekend, the SF90 livery, the drivers’ race suits and some of the team’s track equipment will bear the logo celebrating 90 years of the Scuderia.

2020 Australian Grand Prix

This 2020 Australian Grand prix is yet again the first race on the 2020 calendar, and we await to see whether it will go ahead due to the Coronavirus epidemic across the globe.


Winners Collections 2020

We have a great range of clothing and gifts celebrating the most popular F1 drivers.

Check these collections here.